Skip to content
Help Center
Products
Back to Admin Guide

Marketplace Auto-Sync and Category Mapping

Summary

Learn how to streamline course management by mapping Marketplace courses to Portal categories and automating their publishing.

Introduction

Managing Marketplace content manually can be time-consuming, especially when new courses are published frequently. The Categories Syncing feature streamlines this process by allowing administrators to map Marketplace categories to Portal categories and automatically publish new courses to the Portal Library.

Steps to Follow

  1. After logging in to your LMS, navigate to the Marketplace section.
    Locate the Categories Syncing option in the top-right corner of the page.

image-20251111-131942.png
An example illustration of accessing the categories sync feature
  1. Click the Categories Syncing button.
    Once clicked, a new screen will appear, allowing you to:

    • Automatically publish new courses to the Portal Library

    • Publish unsubscribed courses

    • Map Marketplace categories with Portal Library categories

    • Save your changes once the setup is complete

image-20251111-132505.png
An example illustration of options in the Categories sync feature.
  1. You can create a mapping between Marketplace categories and Portal categories. By default, no mapping is set.

    • Left Column: Lists all Marketplace categories, regardless of whether the account has a limited or full access subscription.

    • Right Column: Shows all Portal categories that have been created.

    Administrators can select one or more child Portal categories for each subscribed Marketplace category to complete the mapping.

    image-20251111-140508.png
    An example illustration of setting mapping between marketplace & portal categories.
  2. Once you’ve set up the category mapping:

    • Enable the “Automatically publish new courses to Portal Library” toggle.

    • Click Save Changes.

    After this, the auto-sync feature will be activated. It runs every hour, automatically checking for newly published courses and adding them to your account.

    image-20251111-141146.png
    An example illustration of enabling the auto-sync feature.
  3. You can also check the “Publish Unsubscribed Courses” option. This allows you to see newly added courses in your account that are not part of your subscription.

Expected Result

Once the auto-sync feature is set up - it will look for newly added courses each hour and will add to your account depending on your subscription.

The Marketplace will show course availability based on your subscription type.

For Limited Subscription accounts:

  • Subscribed

  • Subscribed (Added to Account)

  • Not Subscribed

  • Not Subscribed (Added to Account)

For Full Access accounts:

  • Subscribed

  • Subscribed (Added to Account)

image-20250818-104746.pngimage-20250818-103906.png

What each Status means?

  • Subscribed: The course is included in your plan but hasn’t been added to your account yet.

  • Subscribed (Added to Account): The course is part of your plan and is already added to your account for use.

  • Not Subscribed: The course isn’t included in your current subscription.

  • Not Subscribed (Added to Account): These courses were added to your account as you check marked the option to “Publish Unsubscribed Courses”.
    Note: To access these courses, a valid subscription is required.

What happens to existing Marketplace courses when you enable auto-sync?

When you first enable "Automatically publish new courses to Portal Library," the auto-sync feature only affects newly published or newly added Marketplace courses going forward.

The system does not automatically publish existing Marketplace courses that were available before you turned on auto-sync. Here's what to expect:

  • Before enabling auto-sync: Any courses you manually added to your portal library remain as they are.

  • At the moment of enabling auto-sync: The system does not perform a one-time sync of all existing Marketplace courses. Only courses published after auto-sync is enabled will be automatically added.

  • After enabling auto-sync: The feature runs hourly, automatically adding new Marketplace courses that match your category mappings and subscription.

To add existing Marketplace courses that were available before enabling auto-sync:

  • Manually add them: Browse the Marketplace and add existing courses individually to your Portal Library. You can assign them to a category within the Marketplace during the process, or assign them later to the appropriate course categories through the Category Manager. For more information, refer to: Understanding and Navigating LMS Marketplace.

Ask Casey about this article